According to Dictionary.com, an affirmation is a statement or proposition that is declared to be true. Affirmations are helpful in the quest for positivity because the first person you have to convince about your greatness is you. Some examples of heathy and motivating affirmations are: “Today is the first day of the rest of my life”, “I can do anything I put my mind to”, “I love myself” and “I deserve to be treated well”.

One of the best, and most common, ways to use those types of affirmations are to write them (boldly!) on post-its and put it where you can read them daily like the bathroom mirror or your refrigerator. Another option might be to create an affirmation journal to read before you go to bed. Affirmations are realy useful to give you a nice positivity boost when you need one.

Just in case you have a hard time coming up with your own affirmations, I found a great website that provides free affirmation cards for you to print out or gain inspiration from. Click here to check it out. Remember, thinking positive is being positive.

