“A runner’s high is like having your very best mood you’ve ever had times 2.” —www.healthhideaway.com

I heart running. Every once in a while a person will find something that they really enjoy and this is one of those times.  I started with walking about a year ago. Loved that and started to do it almost every day. Somehow, someone somewhere convinced me that trying to run might be fun. Since I happen to think that one of the things that helps me to stay positive is allowing myself  the chance to try any little thing that catches my interest, I went for it (very grudgingly and with lots of walking added).

Initially, it wasn’t so fun.  My body wasn’t yet trained and the first minute of running felt like someone was hovering above me with three heaters and beating my chest with invisible fly swatters. BUT, after all that torture, I started to feel really really good. I slept great, I started to have more energy and I started to want to go back.   I think I’m presently at a place where the run feels like it is becoming a habit instead off seeming like a  monstrous task that I had avoided because it sounded too hard. Now I’m starting to enjoy the actual run as well as the “runner’s high” that occurs afterward.

The so-called “runner’s high” is said to be the result of a person’s body trying to release them from the pain by providing natural pain relievers called endorphins.  These endorphins are reported to improve well-being and mood and even cause exhilaration.  Want to read more about the runner’s high and the science of it? Click here.

I love endorphins. Endorphins, if loving you is wrong, I don’t want to be right! ha ha.  Of course, I must also say that like any hedonistic activity, running (or its resulting endorphin release), can potentially become  an addiction.  So take care to utilize the power of the run to experience something that feels like “having your very best mood you’ve ever had times 2”, but monitor yourself.  Rather run than work and spend time with your loved ones? That may be a warning sign.  I don’t think I’m there yet.  But I do know that nothing beats back a bad mood like a good walk or run, especially in great weather.  I’m sure you have heard this before, but nothing like a good reminder.  You might love it! *hint hint* =)

Anyway, here’s a video to continue the feeling good vibes!! Enjoy.

