Greetings Positive Thinkers!

A few weeks ago I challenged you to make a list of things that you were thankful for and to spend time daily focusing your attention on all of the good things that you have in your life instead of on all of the things in your life that cause you stress, worry, and strife. If you did make that list and are continuing to spend time daily paying attention to the good that you have in your life, then keep doing it. If you made the list, but maybe sloughed off after a few days of doing it then I urge you to incorporate your daily time with gratitude back into your life. If this is your first time reading about this challenge then I’d like to personally invite you to join us on our uphill climb towards positivity. Become an active member in our challenge. The last group of people I would like to address is those of you who read about the challenge but never tried this exercise. If I’m talking to you, then I have a question that I need to ask you. What’s stopping you from accepting the challenge?

Is it that you don’t have any free moments to devote to focusing on what you’re thankful for? If that’s the dilemma that you’re struggling with then I’m here to tell you that this devotion to thankfulness doesn’t have to be a long one. Why not do it during part of your lunch break? If that doesn’t work for you, try spending your moments focusing on gratitude for a few minutes when you first wake up or right before you go to bed. All I’m asking is that you take a few minutes out of your day to really focus on what you’re thankful for. It doesn’t have to be 60, 45, 30, or even 15 minutes. All you need is a few extra minutes to spare every day.

If that’s not your problem then maybe the reason you haven’t made your list is because you don’t believe that it’s possible to bring more good into your life just by being thankful for what you do have. If that’s the case, then I can tell you first hand that it works for me.

Before I started consciously deciding to be thankful for what I had in my life, it seemed like I could only focus on everything that was bad about my life. I was angry that I was unemployed with a college degree. I was stressed out trying to come up with a way to pay off my crippling amounts of student debt without a penny to my name. I was depressed that everyone in my life except me seemed to have everything figured out. I was unhappy with everything in my life because I was failing to acknowledge that there were actually things in my life that I could and should be happy about. Instead of complaining about everything that I didn’t like, I started to say thank you for the things that I did like. I made a deliberate effort to recognize that I should be thankful that I was surrounded by friends who loved me. I started to appreciate my good health. I was grateful that I had a loving family who didn’t turn me a way and kick me to the curb in my hour of need. As soon as I stopped focusing on what was going wrong with my life and started focusing on what was going right with my life, more of the good started to appear. Instead of being an unemployed college graduate, I became an employed college graduate. I went from one day being angry about not having my life figured out, to the next day coming to peace with the fact that I didn’t have, or need to have everything figure out right now.

Even though more good things started to enter into my life, it didn’t mean that bad things stopped happening to me. Bad things do still show up. I would be lying if I said they didn’t, but when I think about all that I’m thankful for, the bad doesn’t seem so bad anymore.

Now if you didn’t believe my story, I wouldn’t blame you. Sometimes it’s hard to believe someone you’ve known your entire life, so I wouldn’t be surprised if you had a problem with believing someone you’ve never even met. You may ask yourself: “why should I listen to this woman who’s sitting behind her keyboard and telling me what to do with my life?” If that’s a question that you’re asking yourself then all I have to say to you is: you’re right. You’ve never set your eyes upon me. You’ve never spoken two words to me, and now I’m asking you to trust me and take me at my word, and that could be a hard thing to do. You don’t know if I’m lying about this experience that I’ve just described or if I’m telling the truth, but to be completely honest with you, it shouldn’t really matter if my story is true or not.

If there’s even the slightest possibility that you could bring more splendor into your life just by being thankful for what you already have then why wouldn’t you take the chance and try? If you could be happier just by having a grateful outlook on life then why wouldn’t you take the time to sit down and make a list of all of things that you’re thankful for and reflect upon it daily?

If you want to welcome gratitude into your life then do it. Make the list.

And don’t do it for me, the anonymous person writing this post. Do it because you want to experience more positivity in your life and less negativity. Do it because when you start to focus on being thankful for what you do have, you tend to draw more good things into your life. Do it because you want to do it for you.

Remember positive thinkers: “gratitude is a wonderful way to draw more beauty in your life.”

